Resources By Title
A valid York County Library card is required to use these online resources outside the library. Enter all 14 digits from the barcode on the back of your card to gain access.
Invaluable resource for young learners ages 2–8+, with an award-winning online curriculum and 8,500+ interactive books, educational games, puzzles, and other learning activities. (For home access, click here.)
Comprehensive collection of academic journals for scholarly research.*
Middle school students through adults can explore the African-American experience through key biographies, videos, primary documents, timelines, articles, and more. A searchable general timeline is updated monthly, while historical timelines explore period topics. Also included are A–Z, subject, and topic lists; book chapters; pro/con articles; and study helps.
In-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.*
Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people, and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues, and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S., including The Charlotte Observer, The Herald, USA Today, and more.
Genealogy research tool providing a wide range of resources, including billions of names, U.S. census, birth, marriage, and death records, immigration and military records, and more. (In-library access only)
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Resources on a wide variety of applied science specialties.*
Includes step-by-step repairs with images from the original equipment manufacturers, maintenance schedules, labor estimates, technical service bulletins, specifications, and diagnostic trouble codes.*
Comprehensive source for literary research on writers and their works throughout history and the world.*
Online tutoring service offering help from real, live tutors, with powerful tools for learning, writing assistance, and test preparation for students and learners of all ages. Also includes a Language Lab for those who are learning a foreign language, along with expert tutoring currently offered for Spanish. Live tutors are available daily from 2:00–11:00 p.m.
An engaging online tool for early-childhood learning covering letters, words, numbers, time, sound, geography, and more for those aged pre-kindergarten through grade 2.*
Research sources for users of all ages, including encyclopedia articles, magazines, multimedia, maps, recommended websites, and Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary and Thesaurus.*
Access to encyclopedia and related content for elementary, middle, and high school, as well as teacher resources.*
Business research database covering marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, finance, and economics.*
Search more than 30 years of North Carolina history. Coverage from 1985 through today with full-color newspaper pages and full-text articles, and content only published online.
The most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners, including step by step maintenance and repair for specific vehicles, labor estimating tools, and ASE test preparation quizzes.*
Circuit Riders: Basic Legal Research Training
Basic legal research training materials and videos, helpful to any new legal researcher, from the USC School of Law.
Over 10,000 comprehensive MarketLine profiles on the world’s most important companies.*
Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology.*
Designed for the everyday health care consumer, with easily understandable health and medical information.*
A library of award-winning, on-trend arts and crafts instructional videos providing inspiration and expert guidance. New users must create an account upon first login.
Images, audio files, videos, and more than 600 full-text reference books on most major subject areas. How-to-Videos available.*
Country reports that provide snapshots of the world’s cultures.*
Short, 5–25-minute video courses, with activities and handouts on computer use, the Internet, and other technology-related resources, including courses for technology trainers. Learn at your own pace. An email address is required.
A collection of 62 nonfiction books often noted for their numerous photographs and detailed illustrations.*
Source of information on a wide range of topics in education scholarship.*
Spanish database for native speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.*
The Education Resources Information Center database includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.*
Spanish elementary encyclopedia for early readers of Spanish.*
Explora for Elementary Schools
Provides access to information on many topics, with nearly 100 popular full-text elementary school magazines, as well as encyclopedias and dictionaries, and offers text-to-speech to assist struggling readers or those learning English.*
Provides access to information on many topics from magazines, newspapers, books, and more, including relevant photos, maps, flags, and video, with text-to-speech to assist struggling readers or those learning English.*
Provides access to information on many topics from magazines, newspapers, books, biographies, country reports, primary sources, video, and more. Includes nearly 500 popular full-text high school magazines, as well as an encyclopedia, reference resources, and images, and text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English.*
Database for teens through adults covering information on many topics from magazines, newspapers, books, and more.*
Database covering important issues related to race in society today, designed for high school and undergraduate students. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and critical context for topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusiveness.
Premier online resource for paying and preparing for college, with roughly 1.5 million scholarships for every student’s educational goals, activities, and interests. Members are matched to relevant scholarship opportunities completely free of charge and can depend on Fastweb for insider financial aid tips and job and internship matches in their area.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Explore 140 industries and over 1,000 professions through detailed content, video interviews, and educational pathways, including two career interest assessments, a career advice blog, and current, searchable job postings. Workplace skills development content supports career prep, academic success, and general life skills.*
Provides access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Foundation Directory Online Professional
Premier resource for locating in-depth information about grant makers, their grants, scholarships, and RFPs. It Includes profiles for 140,000 grantmakers, 4 million grants for non-profit organizations, and 10,000+ sources that provide funding to individuals. (Due to license restrictions, this resource is only available for use at the Main Library in Rock Hill using library computers or library Wi-Fi.)
Offers innovative solutions to help individuals, nonprofits, and companies in the 13-county region bring their charitable visions to life by supporting personal and corporate philanthropy through a range of innovative fund and giving options. Also drives nonprofit sustainability through endowment management, customized solutions, and grantmaking.
A research database containing scholarly journals from Spain, Portugal, and Latin America covering all major subject areas.*
Offers an award-winning, hassle-free eBook experience — anytime, anywhere, and on any device, with comprehensive support from many top publishers. Optimized for search and discovery, Gale eBooks integrates with library educational programs for a better learning experience and includes these selections and more for middle school students through adults:*
-
Drama for Students, a 38-volume collection, features critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures, including discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices, and traditions, as well as cultural and historical context.
-
Novels for Students, a 69-volume guide to novels from various cultures and time periods, features discussions of plot, characters, themes, critical overviews, and style, as well as the work’s cultural and historical significance.
-
Poetry for Students, a 63-volume collection, features an overview, discussions, and analysis of poems from all time periods, nations, and cultures.
-
Short Stories for Students, a 52-volume collection, provides synopses of the story's plot, characters and themes, author biographies, criticisms, and cultural and historical significance.
Comprehensive source for biographical information.*
Articles, pictures, and reference information on all subjects.*
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy.*
Search thousands of continuously updated, on-demand videos from world-class instructors across 75+ categories in business, technology, design, and more. All courses offer a tailor-made learning experience for those who want to learn new technologies and skills to stay competitive in a changing workforce or further develop a personal interest.
Covers more than 200 topics, including more than 7,000 lessons, more than 1,000 videos, and more than 50 interactives and games, completely free.
Build a job-winning resume online in three easy steps with this free resume builder. Create your resume content with a step-by-step writing guide, format your resume by selecting a design template and font, and then download and email it in multiple formats. Android and Apple iOS apps are also available.
Build more effective grant-seeking and grant-writing skills with tips for writing award-winning grant proposals and identifying grant funding opportunities.
Stay up-to-date on the latest facts and insights on nonprofits and nonprofit research, with the most complete data available to attract donors with your nonprofit profile, research valuable nonprofit partners, and access nonprofit API solutions. (Due to license restrictions, this resource is only available for use at the Main Library in Rock Hill using library computers or library Wi-Fi.)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.*
Search more than 15 years of South Carolina history. Coverage from 2004 through today with full-color newspaper pages and full-text articles, and content only published online.
Comprehensive collection of genealogical sources, including U.S. census records, local and family histories, Revolutionary War pension and bounty land warrant application files, the Freedman's Bank Records, maps, and more.
Page images from selected historic newspapers of 25 states and the District of Columbia, published from 1836–1922, including 34 historic South Carolina newspapers published in Anderson, Anderson Court House, Bennettsville, Charleston, Columbia, Edgefield, Georgetown, Laurens, Orangeburg, Orangeburg Court House, Pickens Court House, Rock Hill, Sumter, and Sumterville.*
Comprehensive U.S. and world history reference resource.*
A large collection of nearly 5,800 eBooks covering a wide range of subjects, including law, current issues, the economy and business, the military, science and technology, history, and more.
Full-text articles from the Lake Wylie Pilot (SC), from 2010–2016.
Teachers, students, and parents can access more than 148,000 multimedia resources — including high-quality full-length videos, video clips, images, audio files, articles, activities, worksheets, interactives, and more — on any Internet-enabled device, anytime, anywhere.*
Offers tips and free resources to help those looking for a career change learn how to become freelance grant writers, with templates, online grant writing classes, workshops, and more.
Collection of test-preparation tools, skill-building materials, and other career and life skills resources.*
Broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.*
Award-winning online language learning system for children providing a fun, easy way to learn, with 12 languages to choose from and a proprietary method for teaching 360 words and phrases.
Online database of more than 3,000+ multilingual, illustrated digital storybooks in 65+ languages. Each book allows kids to enjoy the magic of books in LOTE (Languages Other Than English) and comes with English translations to help them learn new languages. Download the LOTE4Kids App today! This product is funded by a Youth Literacy Grant from the Dollar General Literacy Foundation.
This well-respected resource for teachers and others is packed with 54,000+ fun and engaging ideas, worksheets, crafts, songs, games, patterns, clip art, cards, and more. Appropriate for pre-kindergarten through grade 6, content is teacher-created, teacher-tested, educationally sound, — and carefully planned and edited by an in-house team of former teachers. New content is posted every month, with skills and topics right when teachers need them.
Online language-learning system for over 60 world languages, with lessons that use conversational and grammar goals, cultural notes, intuitive pronunciation, recordable speech, and audio from native speakers.
Large collection of periodicals, reference books, and more covering a wide range of general interest topics.*
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.*
Collection of databases providing a wide range of private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, industry profiles, and more.
Database of corporate information covering thousands of active and inactive U.S and international public companies, providing business descriptions, corporate histories, and financial statements.
Provides the latest news from the leading national and international news sources.*
Provides near real-time access to top worldwide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.*
Resource for helping students find their next great fiction or nonfiction title to read.*
Resource of fiction and nonfiction titles to guide readers in finding their next title to read.*
Ideal for students in grades K–3 and available in English and Spanish, PebbleGo – Animals supports animal classification, behavior, and habitat lessons, and provides engaging read-aloud audio and videos with articles appropriate for young learners. Children may explore amphibians, dinosaurs, fish, mammals, and more through over 300 articles.*
PebbleGo / Pebble Go Next – eBooks
A 50-eBook collection for students in grades Pre K–4, available for unlimited concurrent use. Readers will find fiction and non-fiction eBooks in English and Spanish, with auto-play and read-aloud features for young learners.*
For grades 3–5, PebbleGo Next – Biographies covers an extensive list of actors, explorers, women, American Indians, and more, with read-alouds, images, and videos for research and projects.*
Early readers and researchers from grades K–3 will discover physical, life, earth, and space sciences, along with engineering and technology in this easy-to-navigate, engaging resource. Pebble Go – Science correlates with SC Standards and includes read-aloud articles, videos, and games, as well as lesson plans and activities for educators.*
Points of View Reference Source
Database containing essays and articles that present multiple sides of current issues.*
Professional Development Collection
Comprehensive collection, designed for professional educators, providing full-text education journals, including peer-reviewed titles and educational reports.*
Premier source for business and residential information, including listings of over 40 million businesses and over 260 million consumers.
Provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.*
A large eBook collection featuring current, full-text sources covering many diverse topics in the fields of literature, history, science, and health. Introductory video available.
The official website for the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles provides information on the vision, knowledge, and road tests required to obtain or renew a driver's license, as well as a Driver’s License Practice Exam.
Comprehensive database covering the major scientific fields of study.*
SCIWAY, the South Carolina Information Highway, is the largest and most comprehensive directory of South Carolina information on the Internet, with over 50,000 links to other South Carolina websites, as well as maps, charts, articles, and other resources.
Up-to-date information on topics related to small businesses and entrepreneurs.*
South Carolina Grant Research Assistance
A collection of resources from the South Carolina State Library to assist nonprofit organizations and individuals seeking grant funding from private and corporate foundations and government agencies. Includes information for finding foundation and government grant programs, the grantseeking and proposal writing process, nonprofit management, and fundraising strategies.
Find information on state issues and events, business, education, government, sports and more.
The newly revised StudySC is an image-rich resource for students of all ages, educators, and parents that supports the study of South Carolina-related topics, including famous people, geography, history, facts, and more. Find multimedia, primary documents, Discus resources, interactive content, subjects in the S.C. curriculum standards, and more links to quality online content.*
Helpful tax-related links and information curated by York County Library staff, including resources for finding online tax forms, free local tax preparation assistance, and more.
Provides indexing and abstracts for popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.*
TeachingBooks
Offers ebooks with voice, "meet the author" videos, games, and puzzles for K–12 students. Educators can filter results based upon grade level, curricular area, cultural experience, author, year published, and special collections, and they can also create classrooms for groups.*
Includes graphic novels, enhanced novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, educator resources, and audio books for grades 7–12.*
Current events database of popular topics, including controversial opinions and viewpoints.*
Includes fiction and non-fiction animated, talking, story, and chapter books; French and Spanish books; National Geographic videos; and puzzles, games, and songs, all accessible from computers or mobile devices.*
Features the most comprehensive collection of math stories available anywhere in the TumbleBook format, complete with animation and narration and all accessible from computers or mobile devices.*
Offers live tutoring for K–12 students, with Live Homework Help, WriteTutor Center, Test Prep Center, and the SkillsCenter Resource Library. Real-time tutoring is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, in English and Spanish.*
Estimate your South Carolina car insurance costs customized to your age, location, driving record, vehicle, etc., or your home insurance costs based on home replacement value and location. Your personal information is only used to calculate insurance price. Video tutorials available.
Information and advice on over 6,000 stocks, 18,000 mutual funds, 200,000 options and other securities. Free user guides and videos available, including guides for Mutual Funds, Closed-End Funds, & ETFs, and the Stock Screener Tool.
Vocational and Career Collection
Provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals for vocational and technical research.*
Weiss Financial Ratings Series Online
Investment and banking information in an easy-to-understand format including letter-grade ratings. Financial literacy and consumer guides, including information for teens. Features a Medigap coverage tool which generates a customized report to help individuals find the best coverage option.
World Almanac for Kids Elementary
Articles, videos, games, and information on all subjects aimed at students in grades 2–5 and their parents.*
World Almanac for Kids Intermediate
Articles, videos, games, and reference guides on all subjects aimed at students in grades 6–9 and their parents.*
Tools on how to write and research effectively, including a step-by-step guide to writing a good essay.*
*Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library. All other products provided by York County Library unless stated otherwise.
